Is it a book case? Is it an end table?

A few months ago, I purchased this piece of furniture at the Plattsburgh Antique Mall. It is one of my favorite local haunts for vintage goodness. I documented the ‘before’ here. After I finally finished stripping the damaged veneer off the top, I stained the exposed wood and the veneer on the faces of the drawer with two coats of Minwax Gunstock, followed by a matte polyurethane top coat. The silvertone handles were sandblasted at work (a perk for the DIY’r in me), then given a once over with a brass brush just to clean up the nooks and crannies. The rest of the unit was painted my 2011 favorite color: Benjamin Moore’s Wenge.

Right now, the unit is located across from the foot of our bed. All my “must keep” books are housed here, as well as a few pretties: a McCoy planter, a jar full of seashells, and an inkwell the CatMan found on our beach after the spring flooding this year. There is also a vintage picture of “Peake” which I found at the Right Place in Alburgh, VT.

I use this space as a place to enjoy a cup of coffee while soaking up some sun, or blog, or knit. Now I just have to get that Craigslist chair recovered…

Leave a Reply

