I’m blaming the heat

For not knocking off my July to-do list! Finish a full-size knitted throw? Ugh – it’s too hot to have all that yarn in my lap. Up and down tiling cabinets? Ick – heat rises right to where I’m working. Staining furniture? Bleah – it’s too humid to dry properly. So I’m working on smaller scale projects until the heat breaks (which better be soon: we live in New England, for heaven sakes!)

I am knitting a blankie, just baby-sized for a little one due at Christmas. I’m looking for the perfect heathered green to compliment the brown with multi-colored flecks and the heathered rose. I found the rose yarn during a thrifting run last weekend, which set my mind working on the brown and green complimentary color scheme.  Oh, and the bag was from a remnant I found a yard sale last year. The woman who was hosting the sale was British, and the fabric selvage said “Liberty of London”.  I used plain muslin for the handles and trimmed them out with red bias tape from my stash.

I found my other project at the same thrifting spot: it’s an unfinished needlepoint canvas. The canvas, needle, and extra wool yarn were all together in a plastic bag. My plan is to make a pillow using some gold crushed velvet and olive ribbon. Stay tuned!

 

Leave a Reply

