February’s big project

The cubby of doom has been sealed off and the handrail has been stained. I had the guys at Lowes cut a piece of beadboard to size (the CatMan is psyched to use the remainder as shooting targets – unless I figure out something else first). I nailed it across the doorway (just a few nails since the wood is light) and then caulked all the way around the edges. The next day, I slapped on a coat of paint (the beadboard was already primed!) and called it done. As with most of my procrastinated projects, the actual process was 1/4 of the time I had estimated it to be in my head.

donedoorI also finished the handrail. Since it’s still winter here and I didn’t want to be stuck in the house with oil-based fumes, I rubbed on 3 coats of General Finishes water-based stain in Espresso (leftover from doing the TV cabinet.) Since one of my 2014 home goals is to paint the stairs chocolately brown, I think this stain will nicely compliment. I’m still deciding whether or not to polyurethane the handrail…but hey I’ve got to leave something for 2015!
handrail

One thought on “February’s big project

Leave a Reply

