What you don’t know is missing

I know I have mentioned my blahs here at least once in the past few months. I quote this great Schoolhouse Rock cartoon quite a lot (“When my get up and go has got up and went”)

Well, little did I know that it was indeed cheese – or more specifically the Vitamin D  – my body was hankering for!  A few weeks ago, I had an appointment with my doctor to discuss why I was feeling so craptastic. All my panels came back in normal range except my Vitamin D test: normal range is 30 – 100 ng/mL, insufficiency is 20 -30 ng/mL (which is most people here in the New England), and a deficiency is below 20 ng/mL. My test results? 7. Ayep. I have the distinction of having the lowest levels of Vitamin D that my doctor has seen in her 30 years of practice. Woot!

It’s been about 3 weeks on my superdose, and I’m feeling really good. I haven’t had to up my other anxiety meds and my energy level grows a little bit each day. I have a blood recheck in the next week and hopefully I’ll be getting a thumbs up!

Moral of the story: listen to your body and get your vitamin levels checked!

3 thoughts on “What you don’t know is missing

  1. My consultant swears by Vitamin D – I had low levels which are checked regularly now and I take 2000iu’s daily as here in Yorkshire, England we get very little winter sun and in summer I have to use almost a total sunblock so I don’t burn which also blocks the Vitamin D. Glad to hear you are feeling better already.

  2. Thank you ladies! I try to eat as healthy as I can, but evidently there are other factors that affect how a body absorbs vitamins and nutrients. The doctor indicated that the midsection is the best place to absorb the maximum amount of Vitamin D from sunlight. Um, yeah – that’s one part of my body that will never see the light of day!

Leave a Reply

