Craft room update

Remember this DIY drying rack I did back in 2012? This past summer, I found a beautiful gesso’d  picture frame in my local thrift shop. It was too far gone to be salvageable as a frame, but I did think it would make a great trim for this shelf.  I cut it apart, glued it to the three exposed edges and then gave everything a coat of Valspar’s Tagsale Linen (which was pretty much a match for the brackets.)

shelftrim

before painting

front of shelf

all done

sewingbooks

PS – that pink swatch in the bottom section is my prime choice for repainting the craft room.

And this is a wooden utensil tray that I made into a shadowbox of smalls. The middle row holds my newest additions: little ‘books’ which contain sewing notions. There’s a book for needles/hooks and eyes, silk thread, needles, cotton thread, etc. Most of the boxes contain their original contents. I attempted to get more information about them – they were originally manufactured by Dennison (of Avery Dennison office supply fame) and it appears there was a book of pins and a little storage unit which I don’t have. The books fit perfectly and I think they are a sweet addition to my crafting space.

One thought on “Craft room update

Leave a Reply

