A little library

Sorry for the media absence – work deadlines took precedence. 

One of the many things my niece and I have in common (other than a deep love for Jane Eyre and Edward Rochester) is a love for books in general. So I know Rexie is going to have no choice but to be a reader. To get her started, I’m amassing a library of some of my favorite stories. A few of these books are now out of print, so I’ve been scouring places like Etsy and Paperback Swap for copies.

horse

by Phyllis McGinley – Who does love the idea of a horse living and loving the big city?

island

by Scott O’Dell – I still find this story hauntingly beautiful.

mixedup

by E.L. Konigsburg – Perfect escapist fantasy grounded in reality.

mulligan

by Virginia Lee Burton – Happiest looking piece of heavy machinery ever.

sam

by Evaline Ness. As a cat lover from an early age, how could I not love a cat smarter than its human?

Some books I’m still looking for (without spending painful amounts of money) include:

friend

by Gladys Baker Bond. I’ve seen a Golden Book version of this story, but the copy that I had was much larger with beautiful illustrations.

house

by Liesel Moak Skorpen. I’ve seen this book for as much as $70.00! But what a fun read! The cave and treehouse are my favorites.

mitten

by Jan Brett – This is still in print, I just have to pick up a copy. This book might have been the catalyst for my love of knitting.

Do you have any oldies but goodies to add to the list?

2 thoughts on “A little library

    • I just ordered “The Mitten”. And since I can’t order just one book, I also got an illustrated set of Rudyard Kipling’s “Just So Stories” and Maurice Sendak’s “Nutshell Library”. Chicken Soup with Rice for everyone!

Leave a Reply

