Word for the year – 2016

…is Comfort
comfort
As a noun:
1. a state of physical ease and freedom from pain or constraint (ease, relaxation, repose, tranquility, contentment)
2. the easing or alleviation of a person’s feelings of ease or distress (consolation, solace, sympathy)
As a verb:
1. to improve mood or restore a sense of well-being

Over the past few weeks as I have been thinking about this year’s word, “comfort” would continue to pop up. I pushed it aside, thinking “Does this mean I’m just going to lounge around eating buttered toast and drinking hot chocolate?” (Which, it turns out, is not just my family’s comfort treat!) But the word would not leave me alone so I explored the concept a bit more.  As I’ve done in the past, I viewed the definition of the word through the lenses of my life. Physical comfort for me means continuing my yoga classes, getting new glasses – I know my prescription has changed, modifying my diet to alleviate systemic distress, and working toward a healthier weight. 

On the mental side, my comfort comes when I’m using systems and disciplines to keep me focused. I know habits such as maintaining my bullet journal, having a night-time ritual, and restarting a daily devotional and meditative time have given me a positive structure on which to build my days. Through 2016, I want to look into other habits to incorporate into that structure.

Emotionally, I want my relationships with family and friends to be comforting – giving comfort as well as receiving. I am still working out what that will look like on an individual level.

On the home front, I’m taking the pressure off myself. I’m the poster child for letting “perfect be the enemy of the good.” I’m going to follow Jen’s lead and let my home focus be on “comfort” – small projects that will enhance our day-to-day living.

So this is my jumping-off point. Did any of you pick a word for 2016?

3 thoughts on “Word for the year – 2016

  1. Your choice of word sounds well thought out and like my word it kept coming into your thoughts so I would say go with it for that reason alone. I found I couldn’t ignore mine either which is (actually two word) restore and replenish – I kept coming back to them as they resonated most with the place I am at just now. Keep us posted on how you use the word to have the best 2016. Viv x

Leave a Reply

